Apart from strict law and order each year around hundreds of criminal cases is registered. Out of which the maximum percentage is shared by the cases of domestic violence, which is more than the two-third of the total cases that are being registered each year.
In Nevada battery, domestic violence is one of the most frequent charged crime. That is defined as any kind of battery that has to be carried out by the person to the related person who may be of the same sex or related spouse, who may be married and living together or in past. It could be blood relation or person must be residing with other for a long period of time or must have been dating with the other person for a long period of time, also in the case when a child is in common with two parents.
In many cases of domestic violence when the police officer is not aware of the real situation and circumstances, who report to the crime place after a call to 911 by the neighbor or the victim person. Might come to conclusion while arresting an innocent person who must be found to be guilty due to the situation. So it becomes the prime concern for the officer to go by the evidence and facts before arresting the right suspect. On the basis of that, there are different laws that are laid down, on the day of the trail, on how intense the crime was.
Here is the list of laws and charges that are applied by the Nevada high authority who seeks to maintain law and order:
First level domestic violence offense
The charges of domestic violence offense depend on the intensity, intuition and number of time it has being carried out by the same suspect. If the person is found guilty for the second time in seven years then punishment are followed as:
- 2 days – 6 months in jail
- 48 – 120 hours of community service
- $200 – $1,000 in fines plus a $35 administrative assessment fee and a $100 program assessment fee
Second level domestic violence offense
In second level domestic violence the same period is continued but with much harsh punishment depending upon the severity of the offense:
- 10 days – 6 months in jail
- 100 – 200 hours of community service
- $500 – $1,000 in fines plus a $35 administrative assessment fee
- 12 months of weekly domestic violence counseling classes at the defendant’s expense. Classes last 1 ½ hours each
Third level domestic violence offense
If it would be thethird time within seven years of the domestic violence offense then no matter the offense may be minor from the previous one but the order are very harsh
- 5 years in Nevada state prison
- A possible fine of up to $10,000 plus a $35 administrative assessment fee.
Fourth level domestic violence offense
It is the case/ level in which crime has being carried out by the help of deadly weapon that could lead the bearer to death or almost to death:
- 2 – 15 years in Nevada State Prison
- A mandatory fine of $10,000 plus a $35 administrative assessment fee
criminal defense lawyer nevada, Domestic Violence Attorney Las Vegas, Domestic Violence Las Vegas, DV lawyer Las Vegas, DV lawyers of Las vegas