× Home About us Contact Us Contributor Guidelines – All Perfect Stories Register Submit Your Stories
csk wins fifth title
By AMANDA MILLS 1,897 views

CSK vs GT IPL Final: A Rollercoaster Clash of Records, Heroics, and Unforgettable Moments

In an extraordinary display of cricketing prowess and sheer determination, the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) wins their fifth IPL title in a thrilling final against the Gujarat Titans. After a washed-out day and a long delay, the match extended into the early hours of Tuesday, ultimately culminating in a nerve-wracking last-ball victory for CSK. Ravindra Jadeja’s remarkable batting heroics pierced the silence and unleashed a wave of celebrations among fans, while also drawing level with the Mumbai Indians for the most IPL titles won. Let’s relive the dramatic moments and exceptional performances that shaped this rollercoaster final.

A Blazing Knock from Ambati Rayudu

CSK found themselves facing a daunting chase, requiring 171 runs off just 15 overs. As the equation boiled down to 13 runs off the final over, with Mohit Sharma bowling, the situation seemed increasingly dire for CSK. Having lost two crucial wickets and unable to find the boundary in 13 balls, CSK’s hopes hinged on the explosive batting of Ambati Rayudu. With a display of sheer power, Rayudu smashed a six, followed by a four, and then another six off Mohit Sharma’s bowling. His impactful knock shifted the momentum in CSK’s favour, placing them in a commanding position with victory within reach.

Jadeja’s Decisive Last-Ball Blow:

While Rayudu’s knock set the stage for CSK’s resurgence, it was Ravindra Jadejas extraordinary batting at the end that sealed the victory. In a match where every ball mattered, Jadeja faced only six deliveries during his short stay at the crease. However, on the penultimate ball, he unleashed a powerful shot, narrowly missing Mohit Sharma’s yorker, and sent the ball soaring down the ground for a crucial boundary. The final ball, another attempted yorker that turned into a low full toss, was expertly flicked by Jadeja to the left of short fine leg, securing the victory for CSK. Jadeja’s last-ball heroics ignited a frenzy among the Chennai crowd, marking a defining moment in the match.

The Impact of Sai Sudharsan

Amidst the heroics of Jadeja and Rayudu, the contribution of Sai Sudharsan to the Gujarat Titans cannot be overlooked. The 21-year-old local talent from Chennai showcased his remarkable skill and composure in the final. Despite a slow start, Sudharsan emerged as the hero for the Gujarat Titans in the first innings, scoring an impressive 96 runs off just 47 balls. His aggressive stroke play, particularly targeting the off-side, disrupted CSK’s plans and put them on the backfoot. Sudharsan’s ability to find gaps and place his shots with precision made a significant impact on the outcome of the match.

Rain-Interrupted Drama

The IPL final was marred by persistent rain, resulting in multiple reschedulings of the match. Initially slated for May 28, the match couldn’t commence due to inclement weather. The rescheduled match on May 29 also faced delays due to further weather interventions. Despite the challenging conditions, both the players and the fans displayed unwavering enthusiasm, enduring difficult journeys and long waits to witness the thrilling conclusion of the tournament.

Player of the Match: Devon Conway

The Man of the Match award was deservedly presented to Devon Conway of the Chennai Super Kings for his magnificent knock of 47 runs off just 25 balls. Conway’s explosive start provided CSK with the upper hand in the run-chase, hitting four boundaries and two sixes during his match-winning innings.

Top Records, and Awards: CSK Wins Fifth Title

  • Ambati Rayudu’s participation in six IPL finals equals the record held by Rohit Sharma.
  • Shivam Dube hit 35 sixes in IPL 2023, matching Shane Watson’s record for most sixes by a CSK player in a single season.
  • Tushar Deshpande’s 4-over spell conceding 56 runs becomes the most by an Indian bowler in an IPL final, surpassing Karanveer Singh’s record from 2014.
  • Sai Sudharsan is recognized as the Game-changer of the Match, scoring a sensational 47-ball 96 and accumulating 125 fantasy points for GT.
  • Wriddhiman Saha wins the Catch of the Match award for his dismissal of Saha by MS Dhoni.
  • Sai Sudharsan also received the Most Valuable Asset of the Match award, accumulating 41 MVA points for his impactful contribution.
  • Sai Sudharsan hits the longest six of the match, measuring 97 meters.
  • Ajinkya Rahane’s strike rate of 207.69 earns him the Electric Striker of the Match recognition.

Looking at the broader picture, this final showcased the resilience and determination of both teams. CSK’s exceptional batting performance, led by Rayudu and Jadeja, allowed them to overcome the steep target set by GT. The unwavering efforts of Sai Sudharsan, along with the impressive batting display by other GT players, ensured a high-scoring and entertaining contest.

Despite the challenges posed by rain interruptions and the subsequent rescheduling of the match, the fans’ enthusiasm remained intact, demonstrating their unwavering support for their respective teams. The rollercoaster nature of the final, with multiple twists and turns, added to the excitement and made it a memorable spectacle.

Bottom Line 

The IPL 2023 Final between CSK and GT will be remembered as a thrilling encounter that showcased the best of T20 cricket. CSK wins fifth title victory, achieved through Jadeja’s last-ball heroics, elevated their status as one of the most successful teams in the IPL. The outstanding performances by Ambati Rayudu, Sai Sudharsan, and other players on both sides contributed to the nail-biting nature of the match. As the curtains fell on this edition of the IPL, fans and players alike were left in awe of the incredible display of skill, determination, and passion exhibited throughout the tournament.

Amanda Mills

I’m a Web Designer, Freelance Writer, and Digital Marketer with a study background in Logic, Philosophy, and Journalism. I’ve always had an unwavering passion