Continuing Education is a recent guideline for insurance producers who wish to obtain or renew their licenses. Insurance producers are affiliated based on these recently formulated guidelines by the California state. This step ensures that insurance producers can maintain their legal status and legal compliance in terms of the insurance products they sell.
It is also done to provide a quality safeguard compliance standard for the security and benefit of the consumers https://www.einsurancetraining.com/california-insurance-continuing-education specify not only the commitment hours but also the specialized training to sell certain products.
California state norms require candidates to commit 24 hours of Continuing Education, which includes about 3 hours for studying ethics. This time commitment format is for a two-year license duration irrespective of how long you have been a licensed producer. However, in the two-year time period, a course cannot opt for more than once.
Carry Over Mechanism
The California state legal mechanism permits the usage of the carry-over facility for candidates. This means that any credit hour earned over and above the stipulated requirement can be carried over to the next term. The norm also specifies that Long-term Care or Ethics credits can be transferred as general credits.
Licensees must take the approved courses in the authority they are licensed in. Furthermore, for license renewal, the renewal dates depend on the date of license issuance.
- Before a producer can sell Long Term Care Insurance, they must be a licensed Accident and Health Producer. Moreover, they must complete 8 hours of Long-Term Care training as mandated by the state. Producers are also required to complete an additional 8-hour continuing training program.
- Insurance producers are also required by the Department of Insurance, California, to complete 8 hours of ongoing LTC training annually for four years of licensure. The caveat to this law applies only to producers who are licensed for four years or less.
- Producers who have a license for four years and above have some leniency in this regard. This is because they must complete 8 hours of ongoing LTC training for every two-year license term. Additionally, agents who hold a life term license may be able to sell only LTC products.
- Long Term Care Partnership Training is required for producers who wish to sell LTC partnership Products I California. The training commitment hours are the maximum amongst all. Producers are required to complete 16-hours of approved LTC training. The producer must complete eight of the mandatory 16 hours in the state-approved classroom courses. For further compliance, producers must complete 8-hour continuous training requirements in the classroom courses for every two-year license term as mandated by California state. For those producers who are licensed for less than four years, the legally prescribed limits are different. Such producers must be able to complete 8 hours of LTCP training annually.
- Additionally, California state mandates different stipulations for producers willing to sell National Flood Insurance Policies. Such producers must take a one-time 3-hour course on Flood Insurance, mandatorily.
- Homeowners Valuation Training is also a must for the agents selling all property-casualty insurances or insurances on personal lines. Such producers are required to commit to a one time only 3-hour course on homeowner’s insurance valuation.
- Progressive – Licensees are required to progress through the course topic wise. All reading content and all study by topic quizzes must be attempted and accessed.
- Certification Exam – Licensees must pass this exam with a minimum of 70% aggregate. The date of successful completion of the certification exam is considered as the completion date for all purposes.
- A study by Topic Quizzes – All Study by Topic Quizzes is required to be passed with 70% or above.
- License Attestation – licensees must complete this exam too after the successful completion of the certification exam.
The California State Law exempts the following categories of people from the CE Requirements –
- Producers who have had a life agent license for a minimum of 1 year or who have secured a life settlement license brokership before July 2, 2010. However, this exemption is regarding the 15-hour life settlement broker training course requirement. It does not include exemptions of life agent CE requirement of 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics
- A producer who holds only a non-resident license
- A producer who holds only a cargo shippers license
- A producer who is above 70 years and has managed to hold an insurance license for 30 years or more. However, the exemption does not pertain to special training that is required to be undergone for specific courses.
- Non-resident Adjusters
The state’s present-day legal mechanism is robust enough to take care of the candidates and the customers. It is advisable for insurance producers who are reapplying for licenses to carefully keep track of the commitment hours’ changes. For this and other such purposes, aspirants must always keep track of public circulars and notifications to that effect.